Story

Credo

My name is Robin Hildisch and I am the founder of HiDDEN ACES. Since 2017 it has been my mission to manufacture jackets in a fair, sustainable and precisely fitting way, i.e. an all-round real product.
I have years of experience as a tailor and fashion designer, but in my time as a designer I noticed that the so-called “fashion circus” is a resource-destroying, unscrupulous industry with no respect for people and nature.
In the case of branded clothing, the customer often buys a marketing construct, while the clothing itself is often of little quality than a piece of clothing from the fashion chains.
The women's collections are particularly sad. Often cheaper than the men's collections, the manufacturers assume nothing else than that they prefer to stuff their bags with inferior scrap.
If you don't believe me: Take a random look at the labels of 10 women and 10 men’s items at a fashion chain. You will find that women’s clothes are much more often made of cheap polyester than men’s clothing.
That's why I make the HiDDEN ACES women's collection from the same high-quality materials as the men's collection. With their timeless design, high-quality workmanship and the associated long shelf life, they outlast trends and make you independent of this marketing spiral, which not only causes garbage, but constantly manipulates you.
For example, how would you meet someone who was constantly manipulating you?
You'd probably avoid this person at some point, right?
I am not someone who can do a pointless job. I love people and I always try to do them a favor with my jackets. Therefore HiDDEN ACES are my gift to you all.
 

Sustainability

Well, then organic, fair trade, recycling ...
And of course we Germans need seals and certificates for this.
A good seal that I trust is the GOTS or IVN Best Seal. I am happy to buy fabrics with this seal because the Ecocert organization behind it analyzes and evaluates the entire production process of a fabric. Furthermore, all of our materials are at least equipped with the BCI cotton seal or Ökotex Standard 100. And by the way: Cotton does NOT grow in Germany. So such control bodies are necessary to prevent humans and nature from being exploited. 
Why is there no seal on my jackets?
Since I manage HiDDEN ACES all by myself, I neither have the time nor the financial means to get certified, because seals are expensive.
That is why my name guarantees that I choose the most sustainable raw materials for my jackets from the highest quality and most authentic raw materials.
If you have any questions about origin and sustainability, I am happy to answer your questions personally.
 

Our production

As a tailor, respect for human work has always been particularly important to me, which is why I have my jackets made in Poland and Germany. I create individual orders, custom-made products and small series myself in my studio in Hückelhoven (North Rhine-Westphalia).
What I have to say about the production in Poland is that there are only a few sewing shops in Germany and the profession of tailor and seamstress has almost died out, whereas these professions still have a future in Poland. There are generally no differences in price or quality.
As far as the production location is concerned, however, you have to be flexible. Depending on which policy the individual countries have for or against the sewing shops, I could also imagine production in France, Spain or Portugal, for example.
I am currently working with a sewing shop in Königsberg / Bavaria and one in Bienkowice / Poland.
 

Our fabrics

Waxed cotton

Our suppliers for waxed cotton are British Millerain from Rochester / England and Halley Stevensons from Dundee / Scotland. These two weaving mills are the market leaders in this segment and are traditional companies with over 150 years of experience. Since the two complement each other well, I order from one or the other depending on the color and taste.
Both weaving mills are part of the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI).
The wax is made from waste products from fuel production and, in contrast to polyfluorocarbons, which are otherwise used to impregnate rain textiles, is much more environmentally friendly and biodegradable.
Good to know: light colors swell more than dark colors when wax is applied (Tekwax Evo, Chera, P270). Therefore, light colors of the same wax material are also more structured than dark ones.

Olmetex

Above all, Olmetex is our supplier for the trench coat fabric Bogart, which has been produced since the beginning of the company's history in 1954 and has significantly influenced the appearance of the trench coat itself. The masterful combination of polyester fibers on the top and a cotton fabric underneath results in a material that is physically breathable and water-repellent. If it still looks like it did back then, there are worlds between the old trench coat fabric and today's Bogart. The production of polyester and the extraction of cotton have changed, as has the sustainable generation of energy to power machines. In addition, Olmetex has become one of the leading weavers for sustainable and innovative outdoor fabrics, which I like to incorporate into the collection from time to time. 

Tweed

For tweed fabrics, I like to use the suit fabrics from Mallalieus of Delph. Mallalieus was founded in Delph / England in 1863 and is still one of the last weaving mills to carry out every work step from shearing the sheep to the dispatch of the finished fabrics in their Valley Mill. Other tweed weavers may be better known, but certainly not better. The fabrics speak for themselves. 

Wool

I get wool fabrics mainly from Albano Morgado. This Portuguese weaving mill was founded in Castanheira de Pera in 1927 and has a wide range of fabrics, meltons, loden, Shetlands, recycled wool and organic wool. The company is a reliable and open partner for new developments and always surprises with new patterns, mixtures and structures. 

Brisbane & Moss

The Moss Brothers fled with several other weavers for fear of a dyeing monopoly to found the English Fustian Manufacturing Company in 1901 when the English Velvet Cord Dyeing Company was established in their district. The meaning of the word “Fustian” still stands for the core of the brand today: velvet and cord fabric. This is what Brisbane & Moss are world famous for today. Furthermore, they offer the same expertise in moleskin, panama, linen, twill and lining. The best you can get from workwear fabrics. 

Cotonea

Our most sustainable partner Cotonea is a brand of the weaving mill Elmer & Zweifel from Bempflingen in Baden-Württemberg, founded in 1855. Cotonea stands for organic cotton and wool fabrics with the highest imaginable standards. Here the Swabians do not rely on Siegel but support the people who work in the organic fields and their families themselves and actively through fair wages and help for the community. We purchase GOTS and IVN Best cotton as well as KbT wool plush from Cotonea. 

Victory

Vittoria was founded in Scafati / Italy in 1951 and is a small, family-run linen weaving mill. Here they work on the most modern machines that are operated by solar energy.
Linen is made from flax and is a very old natural fiber as well as being very robust and cooling. So far I have been getting the heavy Palermo Twill from Vittoria for the Kronos and Helena models.

viscose

Frankenberger is our feed supplier from Aschaffenburg. The company was founded in 1950 and is responsible for our viscose and viscose cotton linings. Here they mainly process enka viscose, which is made where I spent my childhood. In Obernburg in Franconia.
Viscose is a regenerated fiber. This means that some kind of cellulose, be it from fast-growing birch wood, bamboo or waste paper, is dissolved in a spinning bath and brought into different shapes through different nozzles or by upsetting. The spinning bath used to be poisonous and many toxic waste products were created. Today, however, thanks to other raw materials and modern filter systems, only fiber residues, Glauber's salt and water are produced as by-products. The water is biologically clarified, the Glauber's salt is used in the detergent industry and the fibers are processed into cotton pads, among other things.

Story

Credo

Mein Name ist Robin Hildisch und ich bin Gründer von HiDDEN ACES. Seit 2017 ist es meine Mission, Jacken fair, nachhaltig und passgenau herzustellen, also ein rundum echtes Produkt.
Ich habe jahrelange Erfahrung als Schneider und Modedesigner, habe allerdings in meiner Zeit als Designer festgestellt, dass der sogenannte „Modezirkus“ eine Ressourcenvernichtende, gewissenlose Branche ohne Respekt für Mensch und Natur ist.
Auch kauft der Kunde bei Markenkleidung oft ein Marketingkonstrukt, während die Kleidung an sich oft nur wenig hochwertiger ist als ein Kleidungsstück von den Modeketten.
Besonders traurig kommen die Damenkollektionen daher. Oft billiger als die Herrenkollektionen unterstellen die Hersteller den Kundinnen nichts anderes, als dass diese sich am liebsten die Tüten mit minderwertigem Schrott vollstopfen.
Wer mir nicht glaubt: Schaut bei einer Modekette mal  wahllos in die Etiketten von 10 Damen und 10 Herrenteilen. Ihr werdet feststellen, dass die Damenklamotten wesentlich öfter aus billigem Polyester sind als die Herrenteile.
Daher stelle ich die HiDDEN ACES Damenkollektion aus denselben, hochwertigen Materialien her wie die Herrenkollektion. Mit dem zeitlosen Design, hochwertigster Verarbeitung und der damit einhergehenden langen Haltbarkeit überdauern sie Trends und machen euch Unabhängig von dieser Marketingspirale, die nicht nur für Müll sorgt, sondern euch ständig manipuliert.
Wie würde man zum Beispiel  einem  Menschen begegnen, der einen ständig manipuliert?
Man würde diese Person wohl irgendwann meiden, oder?
 

Nachhaltigkeit

Gut, dann eben Bio, Fair trade, Recycling…
Und wir Deutschen brauchen dazu natürlich Siegel und Zertifikate.
Ein gutes Siegel auf das ich vertraue ist das GOTS oder IVN Best Siegel. Gerne kaufe ich Stoffe mit diesem Siegel, weil die dahinter stehende Organsation Ecocert den gesamten Produktionsprozess eines Stoffes analysiert und bewertet. Weiterhin sind alle unsere Materialien mindestens mit dem BCI Baumwollsiegel oder Ökotex Standard 100 ausgestattet. Und übrigens: Baumwolle wächst NICHT in Deutschland. Also sind solche Kontrollinstanzen notwendig, um zu verhindern, dass Mensch und Natur ausgebeutet werden. 
Warum befindet sich auf meinen Jacken kein Siegel?
Da ich HiDDEN ACES ganz alleine führe habe ich weder die Zeit, noch die finanziellen Mittel, mich zertifizieren zu lassen, denn Siegel sind teuer.
Daher stehe ich mit meinem Namen dafür, dass ich unter den hochwertigsten und authentischsten Rohmaterialien für meine Jacken auch die nachhaltigsten auswähle.
Wenn sie Fragen zum Thema Herkunft und Nachhaltigkeit haben stehe ich ihnen gerne persönlich Rede und Antwort.
 

Unsere Produktion

Als Schneider war mir der Respekt für menschliche Arbeit schon immer besonders wichtig, weshalb ich meine Jacken in Polen und Deutschland herstellen lasse. Einzelaufträge, Sonderanfertigungen und Kleinserien erstelle ich selbst in meinem Atelier in Hückelhoven(NRW).
Was ich zu der Produktion in Polen sagen muss, ist dass in Deutschland nur noch vereinzelte Nähereien existieren und der Beruf des Schneiders und Nähers beinahe  ausgestorben ist, wohingegen diese Berufe in Polen noch eine Zukunft haben. Preislich und qualitativ gibt es generell keine Unterschiede.
Was den Produktionsstandort angeht muss man jedoch flexibel sein. Je nachdem welche Politik die einzelnen Länder für oder gegen die Näherereien  führen, könnte ich mir z.B. auch eine Produktion in Frankreich, Spanien oder Portugal vorstellen.
Zurzeit arbeite ich mit einer Näherei in Königsberg/ Bayern und einer in Bienkowice/ Polen zusammen.
 

Unsere Stoffe

Waxed Cotton

Unsere Lieferanten für Waxed Cotton sind British Millerain aus Rochester/ England und Halley Stevensons aus Dundee/ Schottland. Diese beiden Webereien sind auf diesem Segment die Marktführer und sind Traditionsunternehmen mit über 150 Jahren Erfahrung. Da sich das Sortiment der Beiden gut ergänzt,  bestelle ich je nach Farbe und Geschmack beim einen oder anderen.
Beide Webereien sind Bestandteil der Better Cotton Initiative (BCI).
Das Wachs wird aus Abfallprodukten aus der Treibstoffgewinnung hergestellt und ist in der Anwendung im Gegensatz zu Polyfluorcarbonen, die sonst zur Imprägnierung von Regentextilen verwendet werden, deutlich umweltfreundlicher und biologisch abbaubar.
Gut zu wissen: Helle Farben quellen beim  Auftrag von Wachs (Tekwax Evo, Chera, P270) mehr als dunkle. Daher sind helle Farben des selben Wachsstoffes auch stärker strukturiert als dunkle.

Olmetex

Olmetex ist vor allem unser Lieferant für den Trenchcoatstoff  Bogart, welcher seit Anbeginn der Firmengeschichte 1954 produziert wird und das Erscheinungsbild des Trenchcoats an sich maßgeblich beeinflusst hat. Durch die meisterhafte Verbindung von Polyesterfasern auf der Oberseite und einem Baumwollgewebe darunter ergibt sich ein Stoff der physikalisch atmungsaktiv und wasserabweisend ist. Sieht er auch heute noch aus wie damals liegen jedoch Welten zwischen dem alten Trenchcoatstoff und dem heutigen Bogart. Die Herstellung von Polyester und  die Gewinnung von Baumwolle haben sich ebenso verändert wie die nachhaltige Energiegewinnung zur Speisung der Maschinen. Überdies ist Olmetex zu einem der führenden Webereien für nachhaltige und innovative Outddorstoffe geworden, was ich gerne von Zeit zu Zeit in die Kollektion einfließen lasse. 

Tweed

Bei Tweedstoffen bediene ich mich gerne der Anzugstoffe von Mallalieus of Delph.  Mallalieus wurde 1863 in Delph/ England gegründet und ist noch heute eine der letzten Webereien die jeden Arbeitsschritt nach Scheren der Schafe bis zum Versenden der fertigen Stoffe in ihrer Valley Mill durchführen. Andere Tweed Webereien sind vielleicht bekannter, doch ganz gewiss nicht besser. Die Stoffe sprechen für sich. 

Wolle

Wollstoffe beziehe ich vor allem von Albano Morgado. Diese portugiesische Weberei wurde 1927 in Castanheira de Pera geründet und verfügt über ein reichhaltiges Angebot von Tuchen, Meltons, Loden, Shetlands, Recyclingwolle und Biowolle. Die Firma ist ein zuverlässiger und offener Partner für neuentwicklungen und überrascht immer wieder durch neue Muster, Mischungen und Strukturen. 

Brisbane& Moss

Die Moss Brothers flüchteten sich mit mehreren anderen Webereien aus furcht vor einem Färbemonopol 1901 in die Gründung der English Fustian Manufacturing Company als die English Velvet Cord Dyeing Company in ihrem District ansässig wurde. Die Bedeutung des Wortes „Fustian“ steht noch heute für den Kern der Marke: Samt und Cordgewebe. Dafür sind Brisbane& Moss heute weltberühmt. Desweiteren bieten sie bei  Moleskin, Panama, Leinengeweben, Köper und Futter die gleiche Expertise. Das beste was man am Workwear Stoffen bekommen kann. 

Cotonea

Unser wohl nachhaltigster Partner Cotonea ist eine Marke der 1855 gegründeten Weberei Elmer& Zweifel aus Bempflingen in Baden- Württemberg. Cotonea steht für biologische Baumwoll und Wollstoffe mit den höchsten erdenklichen Standards. Hierbei verlassen sich die Schwaben nicht auf Siegel sondern fördern die Menschen die auf den biologisch geführten Feldern arbeiten und deren Familien selbst und aktiv durch gerechte Löhne und Hilfen für die Gemeinschaft. Wir beziehen sowohl GOTS wie IVN Best Baumwolle als auch KbT- Wollplüsch von Cotonea. 

Vittoria

Vittoria wurde 1951 in Scafati/ Italien gegründet und ist eine kleine, familiengeführte Leinenweberei. Hier arbeiten sie auf modernsten Maschinen, welche durch Solarenergie betrieben werden.
Leinen wird aus Flachs gewonnen und ist eine sehr alte Naturfaser sowie sehr robust und kühlend. Von Vittoria beziehe ich bisher den schweren Palermo Twill für das Modell Kronos und Helena.

Viskose

Frankenberger ist unser Futterlieferant aus Aschaffenburg. Die Firma wurde 1950 gegründet und ist für unsere Viskose und Viskose- Baumwollfutter zuständig. Hierbei verarbeiten sie vor allem Enka- Viskose, die dort hergestellt wird, wo ich meine Kindheit verbracht habe. In Obernburg in Franken.
Viskose ist eine Regeneratfaser. Das bedeutet, es wird irgendeine Art von Zellulose, sei es aus schnell nachwachsendem Birkenholz, Bambus oder Altpapier in einem Spinnbad aufgelöst und durch unterschiedliche Düsen oder durch Stauchen in verschiedene Formen gebracht. Früher war das Spinnbad giftig und es entstanden viele giftige Abfallprodukte. Heute jedoch , dank anderer Grundstoffe und moderner Filteranlagen entstehen nur noch Faserreste, Glaubersalz und Wasser als Nebenprodukte. Das Wasser wird biologisch geklärt, das Glaubersalz in der Waschmittelindustrie verwendet und die Fasern u.a. zu Wattepads verarbeitet.